Easy Call

Egyptian Woman with Wig

I regard women as not necessarily frailer than myself, but more precious and valuable. So if I were to hold my umbrella over a woman to keep her dry rather than myself it would be because she was more worth keeping dry than I am. In my romantic view, she may be a princess or the richest woman in the world but she can never be more than a lady.

Quentin Crisp
Manners from Heaven (1984)

Photo: Lady with a Wig, Egyptian, twelfth dynasty (1991-1786 BC)

Leave a Reply

