Ha! Good One!

The Milky Way Galaxy

I have noticed that when I am most serious people are apt to laugh at me, and indeed when after a lapse of time I have read passages that I wrote from the fullness of my heart I have been tempted to laugh at myself. It must be that there is something naturally absurd in a sincere emotion, though why that should be I cannot imagine, unless it is that man, the ephemeral inhabitant of an insignificant planet, with all his pain and all his striving is a jest in an eternal mind.

Somerset Maugham
Cakes and Ale (1930)

Illustration: The Milky Way, c. 2011

Leave a Reply

