Read When You’re Ready to Read

The Reader of Dostoevsky

I have to confess I haven’t read Kesey. I haven’t read a lot of people I think are probably pretty good. I read a page of Kesey’s once, from One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest – actually read the first two pages, and I thought, this guy’s good. That didn’t mean I was going to go on reading him. My feeling is, you don’t read a good writer for too little. Never. You read him at the point in your life where there’s a reason to read him.

Norman Mailer
Rolling Stone interview, January 16, 1975

Photo by Jan Saudek: The Reader of Dostoevsky (2000)

Leave a Reply

