To Hell with Love

"Oh Jeff I love you too, but..."

Actually, I am highly suspicious of love, and any honest biography of me would bear that out. If somebody says, “I love you,” to me, I feel as though I had a pistol pointed at my head. What can anybody reply under such conditions but what the pistol-holder requires? “I love you, too.” The hell with love, and hooray for something else which I can’t even begin to name or describe.

Kurt Vonnegut
Address at Rededication of Wheaton College Library, 1973
Wampeters, Foma & Granfalloons (Opinions)

Painting by Roy Lichtenstein: “Oh Jeff…I love you, too…but…” (1964)

Related: Love vs. Love

Leave a Reply

